Skip to content

These are the most popular Twitter searches in Canada in 2019

raptors win
Raptors are NBA champs. Courtesy TSN.

Twitter has released its end of the year review which includes its round-up of the most searched topics in Canada in 2019. 

In addition to winning the NBA championship for the first time, the Toronto Raptors were the Canadian sports team with the most account mentions on Twitter for the second consecutive year. The Toronto Maple Leafs followed in second, with the Toronto Blue Jays placing third. 

Bianca Andreescu was the Canadian athlete with the most account mentions in 2019, which marks the first time a female has been the most mentioned Canadian athlete for a full calendar year. Tessa Virtue followed her in second, with Genie Bouchard in third. 

Shawn Mendes was the Canadian musician with the most account mentions in 2019, beating out Justin Bieber and Drake.  

For the fourth consecutive year, Vancouver's Ryan Reynolds was the most mentioned Canadian actor. Another popular B.C. actor, Seth Rogan, came second. 

Have a look at the most searched for Canadians of 2019.

Athletes - Male

  1. RJ Barrett (@RjBarrett6) - basketball
  2. Mitch Marner (@Marner93) - hockey
  3. Brad Marchand (@BMarch63)  - hockey
  4. John Tavares (@91Tavares) - hockey
  5. P.K. Subban (@PKSubban1) - hockey

Athletes - Female

  1. Bianca Andreescu (@Bandreescu_) - tennis
  2. Tessa Virtue (@TessaVirtue) - ice dancing
  3. Genie Bouchard (@geniebouchard) - tennis
  4. Brooke Henderson (@BrookeHenderson) - golf
  5. Christine Sinclair (@sincy12) - soccer

Teams

  1. Toronto Raptors (@Raptors)
  2. Toronto Maple Leafs (@MapleLeafs)
  3. Toronto Blue Jays (@BlueJays)
  4. Montreal Canadiens (@CanadiensMTL)
  5. Calgary Flames (@NHLFlames)

Musicians - Male

  1. Shawn Mendes (@ShawnMendes)
  2. Justin Bieber (@JustinBieber)
  3. Drake (@Drake)
  4. Sebastian Javier (@sebtsb)
  5. The Weeknd (@TheWeeknd)

Musician - Female

  1. Alessia Cara (@alessiacara)
  2. Avril Lavigne (@AvrilLavigne)
  3. Celine Dion (@celinedion)
  4. Carly Rae Jepsen (@CarlyRaeJepsen)
  5. Grimes (@grimezsz)

Musicians - Bands or Duos

  1. Zeds Dead (@ZedsDead)
  2. Nickelback (@Nickelback)
  3. Tegan and Sara (@teganandsara)
  4. Arkells (@ArkellsMusic)
  5. Loud Luxury (@LoudLuxury)

Actors - Male

  1. Ryan Reynolds (@VanCityReynolds)
  2. Seth Rogen (@Sethrogen)
  3. Stephen Amell (@stephenamell)
  4. Finn Wolfhard (@finnskata
  5. Mena Massoud (@MenaMassoud)

Actors - Female

  1. Sandra Oh (@IamSandraOh)
  2. Ellen Page (@EllenPage)
  3. Stana Katic (@Stana_Katic)
  4. Nina Dobrev (@ninadobrev)
  5. Shay Mitchell (@shaymitch)

Politicians 

  1. Justin Trudeau (@JustinTrudeau) - Prime Minister of Canada
  2. Andrew Scheer (@AndrewScheer) - Leader of the Conservative Party of Canada
  3. Doug Ford (@fordnation) - Premier of Ontario 
  4. Maxime Bernier (@MaximeBernier) - Leader of the People’s Party of Canada
  5. Jason Kenney (@jkenney) - Premier of Alberta

Provincial Premiers

  1. Doug Ford (@fordnation) - Ontario
  2. Jason Kenney (@jkenney) - Alberta
  3. François Legault (@FrancoisLegault) - Quebec
  4. John Horgan (@jjhorgan) - British Columbia
  5. Scott Moe (@PremierScottMoe) - Saskatchewan

Mayors

  1. John Tory (@JohnTory) - Toronto
  2. Jim Watson (@JimWatsonOttawa) - Ottawa
  3. Valerie Plante (@Val_Plante) - Montreal
  4. Naheed Nenshi (@Nenshi) - Calgary
  5. Kennedy Stewart (@KennedyStewart) - Vancouver

Story by Elana Shepert, Vancouver is Awesome




Comments


Elana Shepert

About the Author: Elana Shepert

Read more